Kuala Lumpur Retains The Premier Cup Defeating Selangor By 5 Wickets

Team Kuala Lumpur who had won the Premier League, showed that they are true champions when the defeated Selangor in the Final match for the Premier Cup. The two teams met in the Final after Kuala Lumpur defeated Penang in the semi-final on Friday, 5th May by 66 runs while Selangor defeated UKM by 7 wickets in the other semi-final played on Saturday.

In the Final played at the Kinrara Oval on Sunday, 7th Mei 2017, Kuala Lumpur won the toss and put Selangor in to bat. Selangor batted the full quota of the 50 overs put up 213 runs for the loss of 8 wickets. Muazam Hayat top scored for Selangor with 77 runs. The other who added to their total were Kogilan Muthu 50, skipper Shajan Salim 29, Harinder Singh 12 and Aminuddin Ramly 10 runs. Pavandeep together with GK. Sivanantha took 2 wickets each for 25 and 42 off their 10 overs spell.

Kuala Lumpur in their innings reached the target in 46.5 overs for the loss of 5 wickets. Virandeep who scored a century in the semi-final once again showed his class as he stayed not out with 64 runs. Opener Sami Aslam contributed 45 while the others were GK. Sivanantha 27, Faris Almas Lee 26 not out, skipper Ahmad Faiz M. Noor 17, Faizal Abu Hasan 16 and Syed Aziz Mubarak 10. Shajan took 2 wickets for 53 off 10 overs.

During the prize presentation ceremony for both the Malaysian Premier League and Premier Cup 2017 which was held after the final, the Roll of Honors were also bagged by the Kuala Lumpur player.

 Best Batsman

Virandeep Singh (Kuala Lumpur)

508 runs in 10 matches (2 centuries)

 Best Bowler

Neville Cristy Liyanage (Kuala Lumpur)

20 wickets in 10 matches

Man of the Series

Virandeep Singh (Kuala Lumpur)

508 runs in 10 matches

11 wickets in 10 matches

Main Sponsors



kaf e trade


jet con